St. Joseph
Previously cared for by the mother parish of St. Paul, the Catholic parish of St. Joseph was established in Offenbach in April 1921. A makeshift church had already been consecrated a year earlier as a place of worship. The plans initially envisaged an army barrack from the First World War being converted into a place of worship. The building, which had served as a youth room after the construction of St. Joseph's Church and had been misused as a silo for pig feed during the Nazi regime, had been severely damaged in an air raid in 1941. The structural remains were used to rebuild St. Konrad's Church after the end of the war.
Today's St. Joseph's Church was built between 1930 and 1932 and was completed after an interruption in construction due to a lack of funds - caused by the Great Depression - not least thanks to a generous donation from a Jewish citizen of the town. The altarpieces of Mary and Joseph were purchased in 1938. The original interior design by Paul Meyer-Speer, director of the renovation of Mainz Cathedral in the 1920s, was destroyed during a renovation in 1960. It was only during the renovation in 1984 that a visual barrier between the chancel and nave was removed.
The three bells of St. Joseph's Church were consecrated in 1931 and confiscated for war purposes in 1942, but were returned to Offenbach in 1947. The pastoral district of St. Joseph's also includes the municipal hospital. The parish currently looks after a total of around 4,600 worshippers. Parish life includes a kindergarten, a Catholic public library, two choirs as well as senior and youth activities.
Contact us
St. Joseph
Father Michael Kunze
Brüder-Grimm-Straße 5
63069 Offenbach
Phone: 069 831712
E-Mail: st.josefkath-dekanat-offenbachde